2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs / Dear Hockey Gods

Dear Hockey Gods: Stanley Cup Finals edition

Bruins-Cup-Final-2013

We haven’t talked in a while. I guess I’ve been a little upset with you. I didn’t take Game 7 between the Leafs-Bruins well and I felt it was a personal attack on fans. A cruel joke, even. So I’ve been silent since, and maybe even stopped believing for a time.

Until now.

There’s something that isn’t sitting well with me and I think we’ve talked enough that you know where I’m going with this.

Please, don’t let the Boston Bruins win the Stanley Cup. As you know, this isn’t due to them knocking my Beloved out of the playoffs in the first round. In fact, one might feel a sense of hope about the 2013-2014 season knowing their team is the only one to have given the Bruins a run for their money in the playoffs.

So it’s not about the Bruins as a team, it’s about team owner Jeremy Jacobs.

Please, please don’t let Jacobs get a Cup ring in a year he was heavily involved in a lockout. Double J is legit scum. How could you possibly allow such a man to win another Cup this season, especially after their win in 2011? It doesn’t seem right, and so now I look to you HG for a big upset.

If Jeremy Jacobs had a heart, I might suggest a heart-crushing end to their 2013 story, but only the fans would suffer. So today I ask you for a Hawks sweep. I know it’s asking for a lot, and may not seem feasible, but if anyone can manage to make it happen, it’s you, HG.

Do it for the sport that has been greatly affected by JJ’s actions over the years. Do it for the dedicated fans who still haven’t recovered from the Season Not Played. Do it for those who’ve lost faith but are clamouring to believe again. As a bonus, do it for the Chicago Blackhawks who have worked their tails off all season long. They’ve been pretty awesome and they have great fans.

Please, Hockey Gods, do not let the Bruins and above all, Jeremy Jacobs, win the 2013 Stanley Cup.

2 thoughts on “Dear Hockey Gods: Stanley Cup Finals edition

  1. The biggest obstacle to this is the fact that the hockey deities hate us – deeply. This is why we’ve seen the plagues of questionable management decisions, uninspired/underinformed punditry and irritating phone-in programs. 🙂

Leave a comment